Tennessee Wing
Civil Air Patrol

Wing History 2013

Prepared by

Capt Jill Halcomb Smith, CAP

Wing Historian

Reviewed by

Chapter 1

Introduction, Mission, and Assets

During 2013, the Tennessee Wing of the Civil Air Patrol Excellent in its voluntary service to America, through several Venues: Aerospace Education, Cadet Programs, Emergency Services, Communications, and special activities, namely, the Wreaths Across America project.

As of January that year, Wing Headquarters moved to the old Cherokee Building in Alcoa, Tennessee, on the grounds of the McGhee-Tyson Airport. A grant was secured from the Tennessee Aeronautics Division¹ in September for the renovation of the building.²

Wing Squadrons

Tennessee Wing HQ Squadron	TN 000
Tennessee Wing HQ	TN 001
Legislative Squadron	TN 999

The Wing consists of four Headquarter Groups:

HQ-Group I-LTC Bill Renaud, Commander, TN 128

Kingsport Composite Squadron	TN 004;
Knoxville Composite Squadron 1	TN 008;
Greeneville Composite Squadron	TN 015;
Morristown Composite Squadron	TN 019;
Knoxville Senior Squadron	TN 087

¹ Email of March 20, 2014 from Tennessee Wing Headquarters (hereafter referred to as "TNWG HQ").

² Email of March 5, 2014, TNWG HQ.

Sevier County Flight	TN 093
McGhee-Tyson Composite Squadron	TN 148
Oak Ridge Composite Squadron	TN 170

HQ Group II-LTC Jack Mullinax TN 017

Tullahoma Composite Squadron	TN 036
Cleveland Composite Squadron	TN 173
Rhea County Composite Squadron	TN 176
Chattanooga Composite Squadron	TN 187
Choo Choo Senior Squadron	TN 192
Cumberland Composite Squadron	TN 393

(TN 393 moved from Group 3 to Group 2 in 2013.)³

HQ Group III- Majo Raymond Rader TN 153

Smyrna Composite Squadron	TN 005
Berry Field Composite Squadron 56	TN 056
Middle Tennessee Senior Squadron	TN 133
Sumner County Cadet Squadron 16	TN 160
Murfreesboro Composite Squadron	TN 162
Music City Cadet Squadron	TN 185
Hendersonville Cadet Squadron	TN 191
Williamson County Cadet Squadron	TN 193

³ Communication from Vice Commander LTC Arlinda Bailey, March 12, 2013.

HQ Group IV-Capt Rodney Wilson TN 122

Henry County Composite Squadron TN 080

Millington Composite Squadron TN 014

Jackson Madison County Senior SQDN TN 119

Lewis County Cadet Squadron TN 189

Hardeman County Cadet Squadron TN 194

Everett-Stewart Composite Squadron TN 195

The Tennessee Wing Staff consists of:

Col Bill Lane, Commander

LTC Arlinda Bailey, Vice Commander

LTC James Lawson, Chief of Staff

LTC Dent Young, Wing Inspector General

LTC Louis Piche, Wing Assistant Inspector General

LTC Bill Holt, Director of Safety

LTC Vernon Prevatt, Homeland Security/CD Officer

Capt Pete Crawford, Director of Stan Eval

LTC Bill Dritt, Director of Operations

Maj Rob Borsari, Director of Emergency Services/IT

1LT John MacLean, Director of Communications

Maj Marty Nix, Disaster Relief Officer

Capt Robin Olsen, Director of Public Affairs

Capt Wayne Freieslaben, Maintenance Officer-Aircraft

LTC Montille Warren, Advisor to the Commander

LTC Randy Stripling, Communications Training Officer